A National Historic Landmark, the Farm House Museum was the first building to take shape on what is now the Iowa State University campus. Dating back to 1860, the farmhouse has been home to many notable ISU figures through the years. After several incarnations, the site was reopened as a museum after an extensive renovation that concluded in 1976. Today, visitors can wander through the facility to see permanent and rotating collections of period furnishings and artifacts.
Admission is free, but a $3 donation is suggested.