Style and the City Buying Guide | Midwest Living
More
Close

Style and the City Buying Guide

Two Kansas City, Missouri, designers built an urban dream house full of colorful character. See how they got the look.

To read more about Tad and Jessica Carpenter and their Kansas City home and business, click or tap here

Home buying guide

Carpenter exterior

Exterior

Paint color SW 7004 Snowbound. Sherwin-Williams sherwin-williams.com

Tad and Jessica Carpenter

Kitchen

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Wall art Biddew Noir Sublime Framed Textile. St. Frank stfrank.com Light fixture Random Light. Bertjan Pot for Moooi. Available at Design Within Reach dwr.com Stools Knicker Counter Stool, color: pewter. Blu Dot bludot.com Dining table Reclaimed Russian Oak Plank Rectangular Dining Table, finish: Reclaimed Natural Oak. Restoration Hardware restorationhardware.com

Living room gallery wall

Living room gallery wall

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Print Bird Posse Print. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Table Siena 3. Organic Modernism organicmodernism.com Sculpture Menagerie Gazelle. Jonathan Adler jonathanadler.com Sofa Jane Loft Bi-Sectional, color: Leaside Driftwood. Gus Modern gusmodern.com

Shelves

Shelves

(From left to right) Top shelf  Prints Entangled Couple. Jim Flora jimflora.com Canoe Critters. Jim Flora jimflora.com Second shelf  Bookends Menagerie Dachshund Bookend Set. Jonathan Adler jonathanadler.com Third shelf Bookends Menagerie Owl Bookend Set. Jonathan Adler jonathanadler.com Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com

Living room

Living room

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Wall art Juju Hat I. St. Frank stfrank.com Side table Modern Pawn Stool, color: white. Gus Modern. Available at Houzz houzz.com Ottoman Lind Cowhide Ottoman, color: Buff. Room and Board roomandboard.com Rug Braided Wool Rug, color: cream. Restoration Hardware restorationhardware.com Throw Richard Nixon Charcoal Throw. Jonathan Adler. Available at All Modern allmodern.com

Bonus space

Bonus space

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Table Pfeiffer Mag Table, color: Birch. Pfeiffer Lab. Available at Design Within Reach dwr.com

Work studio

Home workspace

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Prints From left Top row Father John Misty. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Bottom row Levon Helm. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Toro Y Moi. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com

Office

Office

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Ladder shelves Gallery Leaning Shelf, frame: stainless steel, shelves: reclaimed wood. Room and Board roomandboard.com Prints (From left) Conan O’Brien – KT Tunstall. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Dr. Dog. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com

Bedroom

Bedroom

Wall paint 518-1 Delicate White, finish: Eggshell. Pratt & Lambert prattandlambert.com Wall art Field Prints. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Bed Sumatra II Bed. Pottery Barn potterybarn.com Duvet Celeste White Duvet Cover. Crate and Barrel crateandbarrel.com Pillow shams Celeste Standard White Pillow Sham. Crate and Barrel crateandbarrel.com Lamps Tube Top Table Lamp, color: white shade, clear body. Pablo Designs pablo.pablodesigns.com

Studio shelves

Studio shelves

Shelves Hitch Bookcase, color: white. Blu Dot bludot.com From left to right Top shelf Prints Black Bouquet: Print Series. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Bob Dylan. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com The Avett Brothers. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Second shelf ‘D’ book ABC3D. Marion Bataille. Available at Barnes and Noble barnesandnoble.com Alphabet blocks House Factory Blocks. House Industries houseind.com Third shelf French book Graphique de la Rue. Louise Fili louisefili.com

Studio office

Studio office

Desk Strut Large Table, color: white. Blu Dot bludot.com

Studio lobby

Studio lobby

Chandelier Sphere + Stem 6-Light Chandelier, finish: brass. West Elm westelm.com Sofa Bank Sofa, color: Lava/Metal. Blu Dot bludot.com Coffee table Switch Stool, color: Peachy Pink, top: glass. Bend bendgoods.com Throw Scattered. Happy Habitat happyhabitat.net

Studio gallery wall

Studio gallery wall

Wall art Various prints. Carpenter Collective carpentercollective.com Table Saarinen Dining Table, base color: white, top: white. Knoll knoll.com

Add Your Comment