3 Ideas for 3-D Wall Art | Midwest Living
More
Close

3 Ideas for 3-D Wall Art

Mix objects with (or without) traditional art for three-dimensional flash on walls. It’s an easy, unexpected way to give rooms texture and depth.

Soft spot Panels of perky fabrics flanking framed art bring color and warmth to a living room wall. Hang a drapery rod 5 to 6 inches above the centered art. Drape fabric panels (ours are 22x74 and 16x58 inches) over the rod. Swap fabrics seasonally for a quick refresh.

Soft spot resources Art Framed print. T.J. Maxx. tjmaxx.tjx.com Fabrics (From left) Outdoor Santa Maria Mint Julep from the Sun and Shade collection by Waverly. Java Tree Lakeland by P/Kaufmann. Spice Market Aquamarine from the Hide and Souk collection by Braemore. Tonic Living. tonicliving.com Lamp T.J. Maxx. tjmaxx.tjx.com Pillows T.J. Maxx. tjmaxx.tjx.com Side table Threshold two-tier round table in Antiqued Pewter. Target. target.com Vases (Tall) Adra. (Short) Rati. Crate and Barrel. crateandbarrel.com Wall paint PM-30 Bone White. Benjamin Moore. benjaminmoore.com

Basket case A dozen or so woven baskets climb the wall, creating a rustic focal point in a once-ignored corner. Adhering them is a cinch with removable picture-hanging strips. Two per basket is plenty. Start with one basket in the middle and work your way out, leaving 2 to 3 inches between each.

Basket case resources Baskets Lidded green small baskets and two-piece water hyacinth basket sets. Crate and Barrel. crateandbarrel.com Orange Round Michelle baskets. World Market. worldmarket.com Chair Peacock Blue Lorna chair. World Market. worldmarket.com Picture-hanging strips Large and medium strips. Command Brand. command.com Vase Narrow, short Modernist vase in Rustic Aqua. West Elm. westelm.com Wall paint 1095 Oakwood Manor. Benjamin Moore benjaminmoore.com

Grid system Instead of arranging a grid of only framed art (or, in this case, scrapbooking paper), alternate frames and brackets that show off vases. It’s a creative way to add dimension.

Grid system resources Bookends Geode in blue. Pottery Barn. potterybarn.com Brackets Mayne Yorkshire 4821W two-pack hanging basket planter decorative brackets in white. amazon.com Custom clear acrylic tops. Lowe’s. lowes.com Frames Michaels. michaels.com Vases (On brackets) Waterscape. West Elm. westelm.com

More hang ups

Many accessories and quirky collections can double as wall art. Here are some faves.

Plates of art Vintage dishes are often displayed on walls, but pinup-worthy plates don’t have to be old. New dishware in kicky colors livens up an arrangement. Resources Plates (Top) Calypso appetizer plates. Rosanna Inc. rosannainc.com (Bottom) World Market. worldmarket.com

Lighting on the wall Sculptural sconces bring useful beauty to a row or grid of framed art. To avoid wiring, mount candle sconces.

Collection composition Whatever you compile—clocks, antlers, mirrors or birdhouses—will command attention in a group.

 

Add Your Comment